Ello ello,

It’s pretty much 3 years to the day (only a week or two late) since I moved to Sheffield in order to begin what would become some of the greatest years in my life, in a city I fell head over heels in love with.

I went to uni at the age of 19, thinking I’d pretty much figured it all out (plot twist: I hadn’t). At the beginning, I didn’t realise how much I would change over the next few years – good and bad. But sitting here now at 22, I realise how much of a totally different person I am now.

During the past 3 years, I’ve definitely had different phases as my jobs, setting and those surrounding me changed. I’ve had 3 different jobs, 2 of which were in Sheffield. I’ve found new friendship groups and spoke to new people around me. I’ve helped people, in their lowest moments, who I’ll never see again.

When the subject of people changing gets brought up, I always feel like university is one of the best places to do it. You’re surrounded by new people, you’ve moved out of home (if you have moved out of home), you’re in an entirely new situation where you can figure yourself out without anyone who’s previously known you there.

Here’s a couple of things I figured out at uni:

  • I’m a lot more social than I used to be
  • I’m a lot less fearful of things
  • I can control my anxiety better
  • I’m aware of my own opinions
  • There’s a lot less things I’ll deal with
  • Over 3 years, I learned not to be ashamed of things I enjoyed doing
  • I rebuilt friendships
  • I learned what I deserved
  • I learned how to semi-cook

And that’s only the odd few that I can name from the top of my head.

It’s sort of interesting to look back on what has changed and what I’ve learnt, when I wrote a post 2.5 years ago on what moving to uni had taught me and it all seems so long ago.

Let me know if you changed a lot during your time at uni – or did you go straight into a full time job and found that changed you? Have you just started university and noticed the difference in you since moving away from home?

On that note kids, stay safe & take care of your damn self,

~ Shan x

PS – you can find me here and here
if you fancy a book or two, you can me here
i have an etsy shop!!
Previous Post
BLM Petitions

One thought on “Tea Talks: What Uni Taught Me about Me | planetshannn

Leave a comment